jump to navigation

Spring ISD wrap-up, or, it’s a great time to be a Lion 22 September 2007

Posted by Sarah Parker in Analysis, Editorial, Game recaps, Spring, Westfield.
trackback

I look forward to Spring ISD football all week long. Literally. I annoy the Sports Guys with the love-I think they get pretty tired of it. Even when one of my illustrious colleagues gets blessed (That’s right; I said blessed.) with the assignment to cover the Spring games, I’m usually there anyway.

Which brings me to Spring’s rampage over Humble. It was so. much. fun. watching that game last night. Like Karas told me a week ago, some of the Lions are getting their first taste of being on a winning team. You could tell that was true last night. 

For example, each time Solomon took someone down, you could tell he was having one heck of a great time.  

(This was especially apparent when he dropped to the turf to celebrate with a few victory push-ups, which resulted in a 15-yard unsportsmanlike conduct penalty. This display was probably why, when I commented to Karas that the team overall was looking a lot more disciplined, he grinned widely before saying they were getting better each week. Anyway.)

I haven’t written much about Blake Farmer, and that’s an oversight on my part. That kid can catch anything. ANYTHING. Kenric might have an uncanny sense of location, but Blake Farmer makes these insane catches look easy. The Wildcats hit him pretty hard, too, and that kid never dropped the ball. He never even looked flustered.  I have/the media have focused on the McNeal-Shaw partnership. Farmer’s been getting overlooked to some degree, but he made everybody sit up and take notice last night.

Now, with a heavy heart, I’ve got to switch gears and talk about Westfield.  

It pains me to think about the Mustangs’ game against Memorial. I don’t have much information on it right now, but I was shocked when I checked the score. Look, I’m always the last person to jump ship, especially when district play hasn’t even commenced, so you’ll come to expect this line of argument from me … but I honestly think they’ll pull it together. There’s a lot of talent on that team. A whole lot. But they’re working to overcome a lot, too. It seems like the team is still trying to gel. That’s what was apparent to me in every outing of theirs that I’ve covered.

Keep your head up, Mustangs. You’ll see some results soon enough.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment